Bringing Detroit Jazz to a world of new fans

Play Album


Gary Schunk



Now Playing:
I’ll Take Romance

On his new release, Kayak, Gary Schunk creates a spontaneous, inspired collection of originals and standards that hold together like an intimate evening of repartee among old friends. “It’s a three-way conversation,” says Schunk of the dynamics of the album’s trio, which features Schunk, Ray Parker on bass and acclaimed drummer/composer Peter Erskine.

Read More About Gary Schunk
  • I’ll Take Romance
  • Hidden Heart
  • Free Won
  • Some Other Blues
  • Dry Melancholia
  • A.B.H.
  • Something I Said
  • When The Ice Settles
  • Twelve
  • T’s Lullabye
  • Kayak
  • I’m Gonna Laugh You Right Out Of My Life

View Playlist

Feature Spotlight

Schunk homefeat

Gary Schunk

When internationally acclaimed jazz greats come to the D, Gary Schunk is at the top of the call list, and he’s also done his fair share of touring. Over the course of a career that has spanned several decades, Schunk has played with the likes of Joe Williams, Earl Klugh, Kenny Burrell, Anita O’Day, Mark Murphy, Pepper Adams, Terumasa Hino, Dave Valentin, David “Fathead” Newman, Sonny Stitt and countless others.

read more

Latest News

26 | Sep

Gary Schunk, A Jazz Survivor’s New Lease On Life

Detroit jazz pianist Gary Schunk has never lacked for talent, ideas and great stories…...

read more

21 | Jul

Mark Stryker: Michigan Jazz Festival puts spotlight on local players

The summer jazz festival season kicks into full swing this week with the 18th annual Michigan Jazz Festival

read more

19 | Jun

Timelessness meets spaceiness

Planet D Nonet will pay tribute to the 100th birthday of bandleader/pianist/composer/mystic Sun Ra

read more


  • Gary Schunk
  • Charles Boles
  • Ralphe Armstrong
  • Sean Dobbins
    • 11 | Mar Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
      Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe
    • 12 | Mar Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
      Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe
    • 13 | Mar Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
      Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe
    • 14 | Mar Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
      Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe
  • Planet D Nonet
  • Scott Gwinnell
  • Dirty Dog Jazz Cafe
    • 04 | Mar Dave Bennett Quartet
    • 05 | Mar Dave Bennett Quartet
    • 06 | Mar Dave Bennett Quartet
    • 07 | Mar Dave Bennett Quartet
    • 11 | Mar Sean Dobbins Organ Quartet
    • 12 | Mar Sean Dobbins Organ Quartet
    • 13 | Mar Sean Dobbins Organ Quartet
    • 14 | Mar Sean Dobbins Organ Quartet



Pin It